Posted By: littleguru | Jun 28th @ 9:18 AM
page 1 of 2
Comments: 30 | Views: 1275
What's this new website about? Is it a competition to Channel 10 or something completely different? Is it again a "new cool site" or something that will stay? The description is very vague.

Seems like it has been created by Microsoft India (click the about us link)... Lovely that they still use Flash for the animations on the front page... the logo would probably also need some tweaking, it looks a little bit strange at the bottom (the text looks weird).

It's also not using the Windows Live account system...

To me it looks like a marketing company did this for Microsoft... or is it even a hoax?
Interesting. I think tbh I didn't find the content has high quality as c10. What I don't understand is why they don't create the page in Indian, because you can tell that the person who did it doesn't have English as their mother tongue. Also I think some of the content is a bit risky - they're promoting Ultimate only features (such as bitlocker, shadow copy), without mentioning them as ultimate only. I could see a court case over that.
Domain registration isn't a typical MS one;

 Registrant: 
NetCarrots.com Pvt. Ltd.
Registered through: GoDaddy.com Inc. http://www.godaddy.com

Nor is hosting on Rackspace.

Although the privacy policy lists MS India.
netcarrots.com appears to be some kind of marketing firm.

EDIT: with a website that breaks as soon as I try and navigate away from the homepage Perplexed

EDIT 2: aha... it's one of those "Designed for Internet Explorer" sites Tongue Out
REMOVE THE SITE

People will think it has something to do with Mobile Me

Over on neowin they are trying to figure out if this is real.  I am weary as the site does not support live id.

http://neowin.net/news/main/08/06/28/microsoft-launches-new-website--windowsandme

also there is not one single g.microsoft.com (or whatever they are) link.
Well I've fired off an email to MS UK PR to ask if they can verify the authenticity of this website. So let's see if I get a reply.
If this is from MS... oh, for love of... Not another "cool" website! They should stick to windows.microsoft.com or something. It's like the fat kid on the block trying to be cool. You are Microsoft, not "cool". You can't be cool, ever. Stop it. Be yourself. We love you as you are. Seriously. I don't want Microsoft to become "cool google".

Edit : Proof :

( Note to Microsoft : That is NOT cool. Maybe weird, but NOT cool. )

: )



Or this :

http://www.microsoft.com/presspass/images/press/2004/03-22MSNMLB_l.jpg

I saw one of these "things" once a couple of years ago, I almost paniced and ran.
Are you kidding? Blue butterfly/human hybrids handing out CD's? That so weird that it becomes genious! It's even better than the walking Microsoft Mouse and Live OneCare package.
it's barrack obutterfly!   Change!   (hey...ill take it)

re:   "They should stick to windows.microsoft.com"

or hey why not windows.com  /  google.com  /  yahoo.com

give it some OOMPH - come at the competion with with your biggest (hidden) brand...

full on.

(i like to dream...)
It's supposed to be an MS site and they couldn't get high quality versions of the Windows and MS logos (okay, maybe the ones on MS.com aren't exactly high-high-quality, but still).

I mean, it's clear they ripped some logo from MS.com as the flair is only present in the logo image and not the background.

Windows and Me
heh... if it isn't a site by MS, I'm guessing it'll be getting a nice note from the lawyers soon. o.O
Except, it's clear they didn't use the ones from the presspack. The press pack logos are by default black text on white background. They needed white on blue, and it was clear they didn't just take one of those images and change the colors (for the end result would have been high quality), but instead just copied an image off of an existing site (note the flair in the logo that doesn't actually blend with anything).

If you squint your eyes, you can notice other elements of the design that don't seem to blend well with the background.

And no, I wasn't insinuating that this isn't an official site (though, I'm not accepting that it is either). I was just wondering why the site looks the way it does given various resources (like the presspack site you linked to) they could have used to blend the design more.
The website is real... Sad This isn't the best that Microsoft produced, isn't it? Sad sad...
ah, your just jealouse because your not one of thier Gurus Smiley  what makes you think the site is done poorly?
I'm not jealous... not at all; I don't need to do everything Wink

Just there are a lot of different things that don't look properly done. And the sum of them makes it look like something that somebody needed to do but didn't spend any love in it.
do you have to sign in to enjoy your windows or can you just... enjoy it?
I don't know... I don't even know what the difference between "remember me" and "keep me signed in on this pc" is...
Since we're still picking on these guys:

I noticed that they seem to have a case of puzzled possessives.

A most of the menus and content use "your" with have phrases like "Your PC" and "With your memories", yet there is also a menu item titled "My World", and of course the name of the site: "Windows and Me".  Shouldn't it be called "Windows and You" and "Your World"?

And the whole site definitely needs a once over by a native english speaker.

Beta or not, somebody "drop[ped] the DVD" on this one.
and of course the name of the site: "Windows and Me". Shouldn't it be called "Windows and You"

I was actually thinking that, grammatically (though I'm not sure what the convention is overseas), shouldn't it be "Windows and I"?

"Windows and I produced this work of art"
"Windows and I are friends now"

As it is written, it's more like

"Something happened to Windows and Me today...OMG"
"A BSOD threw itself upon Windows and Me"

Maybe this is part of Microsoft's new $300 million "Windows is my friend"-type advertisement campain.
page 1 of 2
Comments: 30 | Views: 1275